top of page

Leadership Costs


Leadership is expensive. Have you thought about that very issue of the cost of leadership and what it takes to be a leader or to become a better leader. We desire to be leaders and to improve our leadership, yet in that process, we need to count the cost or the price of being a leader.

One thing I learned years ago that if I wanted to be a leader, then I needed to be a leader that not only would "do" certain things, but one who would "not do" certain things. Yes, I need to be organized, efficient, and strategic in my leadership. At the same time I do not want to do things that hinder that process, such as procrastination, lack of consideration of time management, or lack of planning. To be a leader, one must look at what we do but also at what we cannot do. We become our own worst enemy in leadership. We say we must plan, yet we do not carve out time for planning. I changed this for myself.

Each Sunday evening, I sit down with my calendar and plan out the week. What meetings do I have? What phone calls must I make? What are the tasks that lie before me? I find by having a few hours to contemplate the week and make adjustments, my week flows much better. The price is making space and time. It is a price I must pay, but the returns are fabulous! I am ready for the week and not blind to what is in front of me.

Another area is procrastination. We all do it. And it is always the tasks that are not very interesting or our least favorite to do. To combat this issue in my life, I tackle the least favorite task by doing it first and getting it over with. I do this first as I enter my work day. Whatever that task is, I complete it and cross it off my list. It not only feels good to know it is accomplished but I find I move through my tasks quicker as I know the reward of completion. I read a great book on this area called, Eat That Frog!: 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time, 2007 by Brian Tracy.

"The fact is that you can't do everything that you have to do. You have to procrastinate on something. Therefore, procrastinate on small tasks. Put off eating smaller or less ugly frogs. Eat the biggest and ugliest frogs before anything else. Do the worst first" (page 33).

Tackling the worst part first is refreshing and will set you up for success on your day and your week. It feels good to cross it off the list. It will cost you a new way of pursuing your day. It will cost you in letting some of the small items go in order to accomplish a large task that has been neglected.

What frogs are you eating this week?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Archive
bottom of page